WHPCA announces the winners of the 2018 Palliative Care Champions awards

Saturday, 13 October 2018 Print

WHPCA announces the winners of the 2018 Palliative Care Champions awards

The WHPCA is delighted to announce the winners of the inaugural Palliative Care Champions Awards, announced today on World Hospice and Palliative Care Day. 

These extraordinary individuals are making a significant contribution to developing palliative care in low- and middle-income countries. 

We received a large number of extremely worthy nominations, and it is great to see the incredible work being done in hospice and palliative care worldwide. 

Be sure to nominate your palliative care champions next year! 

The 2018 winners are: 

Healthcare professional awards

Lailatul Ferdous, Bangladesh and Manju B.K, Nepal

Non-medical palliative care worker

Pastor Alfonso Chaves Araya, Costa Rica

Older people's champion

Anica Jušić, Croatia

Direct stakeholder champion

Nabanita Mandal, India

Policy/advocacy champion

Dr Christian Ntizimira, Rwanda

Disruptor (speaking the truth to power and challenging the status quo)

Lynna Chandra, Indonesia

Civil society leader

Dr Tandiar Samir, Egypt

Allied champion

Dr Portia Manangazira, Zimbabwe

Government champion

Penny Sebuweng-Makuruetsa, Botswana

Lifetime achievement champion

Lee Keon Huan, Mongolia.

Contact Us

  34-44 Britannia Street, London, WC1X 9JG, United Kingdom

  e-mail: info@thewhpca.org

Terms of use | Disclaimer | Cookie Policy | Privacy Policy



Subscribe to receive our newsletter:Subscribe